Oregon delegation receives U.S. House committee assignments

Members of the U.S. House of Representatives have received their committee assignments for the 118th Congress. The House delegation from Oregon grew from five to six members with the addition of a sixth congressional seat. In addition, due to the expansion and departures of US Congressmen Peter DeFazio and Kurt Schrader, there are three freshman members in the Oregon House delegation.

New members of the Oregon Congressional delegation

Congresswoman Val Hoyle (OR-4), a Democrat freshman, has been assigned to the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure and the House Committee on Natural Resources. These committees of jurisdiction are important to University of Oregon programs like the Oregon Hazards Lab and transportation researchers.

Prior to representing Oregon’s 4th Congressional District, which covers areas in southwestern Oregon including Eugene and Corvallis plus the coast from Lincoln City to the southern border, Congresswoman Hoyle served as Commissioner of the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries as well as in the Oregon Legislature, including as House Majority Leader.

“I’m proud to continue this united partnership and be a tireless voice for communities back home.” Rep. Val Hoyle on Twitter

Congresswoman Lori Chavez-DeRemer (OR-5), a Republican freshman, has been appointed to serve on the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, House Committee on Education and the Workforce, and the House Committee on Agriculture. As a member of these committees, Congresswoman Chavez-DeRemer will work on matters such as highways and infrastructure, energy, early learning and higher education, job training, retirement security, conservation, and rural development. As a member of the House Committee on Education and the Workforce, Representative Chavez-DeRemer will have an impact on policies that affect higher education quality, affordability, and accessibility for Oregon students.

Congresswoman Chavez-DeRemer was elected to represent Oregon’s 5th Congressional District in 2022 after serving as the Mayor of Happy Valley. District 5 includes Linn County, most of Clackamas and Deschutes counties, and parts of Multnomah and Marion counties.

“I look forward to giving Oregonians a seat at the table when decisions are being made that impact our businesses, farmers, students, and workers. I’ll continue upholding my promise to work with anyone – on either side of the aisle – interested in delivering results that benefit Oregonians and all Americans,” Chavez-DeRemer Announces Committee Assignments | Representative Chavez-DeRemer (house.gov)

Congresswoman Andrea Salinas (OR-6), a freshman Democrat and first representative of Oregon’s new 6th district, has been assigned to the House Committee on Agriculture as well as the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology. The latter committee oversees most non-defense and non-human health federal research and development, including many research agencies that fund UO faculty research, including the National Science Foundation.

The 6th Congressional District includes Salem, McMinnville, Woodburn and the much of the northwestern portions of the Willamette Valley, including rural and agriculturally focused areas of the state.

“We are living in unprecedented times — but, in these times of uncertainty, science must be a grounding force. At its core, science represents opportunity: The opportunity to change lives, solve problems, and make our world a better place. The decisions we make today will impact the lives and livelihoods of our children’s tomorrow. And I so look forward to bringing Oregonians into the room where those decisions are being made.” Rep. Salinas receives House committee appointments | News | polkio.com

Returning Oregon House members

Congressman Earl Blumenauer (OR-3), now Oregon’s most senior member of the House of Representatives after the retirement of Peter DeFazio after 36 years, will continue to serve on the House Committee on Ways and Means and House Committee on the Budget.

Representative Blumenauer has represented Oregon’s 3rd Congressional District, which covers most of East Portland and Multnomah County and stretches into Southwest Portland, since 1996. It extends east to Hood River in the Columbia River Gorge and Mount Hood high in the Cascades.

“Whether it’s in livability, transportation, or the environment, Portland is always leading the country. We have more to do before we achieve our goals, but we should all be encouraged by our progress and this recognition.” — Rep. Earl Blumenauer

Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1) will continue to serve on House Committee on Education and the Workforce as well as the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology.

Congresswoman Bonamici is a double Duck, having earned a Bachelor’s degree (BA Journalism ’80) and law degree (JD ’83) from the UO. Congresswoman Bonamici has represented Oregon’s 1st Congressional District, which includes the western suburbs of Portland to the coast from the Columbia River to Neskowin, since 2012.

“Public schools play an important role in Oregon and across the country, and strengthening public education and improving access to higher education will grow our economy and benefit our communities.” Education | Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici (house.gov)

Congressman Cliff Bentz (OR-2) will once again serve on the House Judiciary Committee and the House Committee on Natural Resources Committee, and was recently named Chairman of Water, Wildlife, and Fisheries Subcommittee. The House Committee on Natural Resources oversees matters related to public lands, federally recognized tribes, water resources, and the U.S. Geological Survey, which provides federal funding and oversight for the ShakeAlert earthquake early warning system, operated in Oregon by UO’s Oregon Hazards Lab.

Congressman Bentz was elected in 2020 to represent Oregon’s 2nd Congressional District, which includes all or part of 20 counties across northern, eastern, central, and southern Oregon.

“It is an honor to be selected as Chairman of the Water, Wildlife, and Fisheries Subcommittee of the Natural Resources Committee, and I thank Chairman Westerman for this opportunity.” Bentz Named Chairman of Water, Wildlife, and Fisheries Subcommittee | Representative Cliff Bentz (house.gov)