Public officials participate in President Gottfredson’s Investiture

Local, state, and federal officials attended and participated in the Investiture Ceremony of UO President Michael Gottfredson. The Investiture Ceremony marked the official installation of President Gottfredson as the 17th President of the University of Oregon. US Senator Ron Wyden (D-Oregon), the Chair Designee of the Oregon Education Investment Board (OEIB) Nancy Golden, and Springfield Mayor Christine Lundberg offered remarks congratulating the president at the event. Oregon University System Interim Chancellor Melody Rose officially offered President Gottfredson the university medallion and mace, symbolizing the bestowing of the university presidency on Gottfredson.

Representatives of Oregon’s federally recognized tribes, state legislators, OEIB members, Higher Education Coordinating Commission members, congressional staff, and county and local officials attended the event.

AroundtheO has more details about the event.